Oh, you don’t understand what we’re saying? You must not be a “believer” then.

Well, it’s been a while since my last blog post, and that makes me sad. I don’t wanna blog just to blog, but at the same time I don’t want to not blog anything because I don’t feel like what I have to say is interesting. Also, I’ve just been really busy. But enough about that. Let’s get on with what I really want to talk about, shall we?

Duck #5 goes out to all of the “lingo” that Christians use.

 

I know what you’re all thinking, “Great. She’s gunna blog about all this stuff I don’t care about and try ‘n convince me that I need Jesus because otherwise I’m gon’ burn in the lake of fire” (deep southern accent)

Actually, no. That’s not what I’m trying to do at all.
I really want to talk about all of the phrases that are so commonly thrown around by people that probably don’t realize the severity of what they’re saying.

 

How many times have you heard people use words & phrases like:

  • “…my walk with Christ…”
  • “Christianity is a relationship, not a religion”
  • “Hate the sin, love the sinner”
  • “…my testimony…
  • “the gospel”
  • “fellowship”
  • “believers”
  • “I feel so encouraged.”
  • “broken”
  • “lost”

Sound familiar? I’m sure. For those of us who consider ourselves Christians, do you realize how ridiculous those words and phrases sound? Even though we probably understand what they mean…WHY do we use them? So, often I’ve found myself just saying things because I knew that it was the “right” thing to say or it was just something I’ve always said because I grew up that way. You know the phrase, “think before you speak?” I think that it’s totally applicable here.

Think about it…how sucky is it when people use words and phrases around you that you don’t understand? Extremely, right?  

So why do WE do that exact same thing? It’s beyond me. The worst apart about it is that I do it too, constantly. And in my efforts to help a situation, I’m making it worse.

When trying to talk to somone about anything that you want them to believe in, understand, buy, like, you don’t use words that they don’t understand. I mean, how awkward would it be if a vacuum salesman came to your front door & said, “Hi, potential patron, can i interest you in a ZSF 2340? It comes detailed with the latest flux capacitor and continuum knob for the little ones!”? Yeah, super awkward.  (I know, I was being a bit ridiculous with the terminology, but you get the idea)

It’s so bad. I don’t blame people who don’t consider themselves Christians for having the wrong idea about Christians. No one wants to hang around people who use foreign terminology that is alienating and doesn’t bother to explain the lingo or change the subject.
It happens all too frequently.

Loving someone doesn’t look like using alienating language.

Loving someone doesn’t mean that you need to force your beliefs on them.

Loving someone doesn’t include assuming the worse about someone who thinks differently than you.

——-

Loving someone looks like patience.

Loving someone looks like forgiveness.

Loving someone looks like listening.

Loving someone is realizing that you are no worse, nor any better than they are.

To those of your who don’t consider yourselves Christians, I’m sorry. 

[Lord, help me to think before I speak , listen & love genuinely.]

 

 

Leave a Reply

