Feelin’ 22, I guess.

Post Grad Duck #15

So, today is my 22nd birthday. Hip hip! It’s pretty exciting, I suppose. I kinda feel different, but not really. I looked in the mirror not to long ago and said “I’m 22” and I felt odd. So I awkwardly giggled and immediately turned away from the mirror.
I feel like I’ve been 21 forever, though. In reality, I know that I’ve only been 21 for as long as everyone is 21 (365 days), but it’s just felt extra long. I was so excited to FINALLY be 21. When people would ask how old I was, I’d proudly reply “21!” and they would say “Aww..you’re so young!”

No! I’m 21 now! I’m not a baby anymore. RESPECT ME! *throws temper tantrum* 😛

As the year progressed, I began to become more acutely aware of my infantility. I was explaining this concept to my uncle just a few days ago. Even though I have reached this certain level of legality, I have also reached a certain level of realizing that I know far less than I realized. It’s weird. With age comes wisdom, I’d like to think; however, it does not all come at once. It’s more of a one-day-at-a-time type of thing. And in a lot of ways, that’s often how you have to look at life–one day at a time. That’s not to say that we shouldn’t look forward to or plan for the future, but we can only tackle the day that is right in front of us, the day that we are in. We’re not promised tomorrow, after all.

I’m okay with this concept. I don’t love it, but I’m okay with it. In some ways, it makes the hardships of life more bearable. “C’mon, Jayna. This is hard and sad, yes. But just get through today & worry about tomorrow when it comes. Breathe. You’ll be fine,” I sometimes have to silently sniper to myself) Ya know when life/responsibility gets so overwhelming that you just decide to ignore everything and take a nap? Well, you can’t really do that as you get older, I’ve come to learn. Time is a beautiful and precious thing. There are things that must be done, things that need to be done even when you don’t want to do them. It’s not a punishment. It’s not necessarily unfair. It’s just how life is. Honestly, I learned a lot this past year (as I’m sure you know if you’ve kept up with my blog at all). But sometimes, it’s good to just get your ducks in a row and make a list.  😉

And so here it is, folks! In no particular order, 21 Things I learned during my 21st year of life:

  1. Exercise is really important. Because I’m really important.
  2. Be thankful for my friends and let them know often.
  3. Alcohol is good in moderation
  4. Being young is a blessing not a curse
  5. I should take advantage of opportunities to travel if they arise
  6. Growing up has to be done
  7. Mornings aren’t so bad, I should get up and enjoy them more
  8. Going to bed early isn’t lame, it pays off in the long run
  9. The Lord’s character doesn’t change
  10. Life doesn’t get easier
  11. I don’t have to dress nicely/dress up for a specific occasion, I can do it simply because I want to
  12. I need to write things down
  13. I don’t need to be afraid to speak my mind
  14. Gossiping really is hurtful
  15. People want to help me; ask them
  16. I should be proud of who I am and who I’m becoming
  17. Reading my Bible isn’t optional
  18. Neither is prayer
  19. Mornings really are a good thing, I wasn’t lying before
  20. Being alone/doing activities alone can actually be good/fun
  21. Love is powerful

 

So 22, here’s to you!
Whatcha got for me?

[Dear Jesus,
Thank You for yet another year of life. You are gracious and kind.
I love you]
❤ Amen

Leave a Reply

