“Friendship is …

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: ‘What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . .’” -C.S. Lewis

Duck #19

You know those really sweet moments? The ones that make you go, “Aww!” and the ones that make you wanna shout, “THAT WAS TOTALLY WICKED!” like the little boy on the tricycle in The Incredibles?

Well, my ending to January was nothing short of a really sweet moment. It was a moment that started at 8pm on January 31, 2014 and didn’t end until 4:30am on February 1, 2014. It was entirely unexpected, unplanned, candid, tear-jerking, hilarious…beautiful. It was beautiful. It was a moment that fell at the end of what was a really hard week for me. It was perfectly timed. It was divine. The very orchestration of those 9 hours were symphonic. The moment echoed the type of melody that fills your very core with so much joy that everything around you looks and feels like music.

When I initially started to blog, I wanted to talk about the details of the moment, but now my mind has changed. It was a 9 hour moment that left me speechless. Literally. I woke up this morning and could barely mutter an audible word. 😛
It’s so rare to enter into a moment that you don’t want to leave, especially after it has been going on for 9 hours. NINE! That is a long time, y’all! That’s longer than an average school day. But the beauty about the end of January/beginning of February moment was that no one wanted it to end. Neither fatigue nor lethargy stood a chance against this moment. It was so…sweet.

I like to consider the walls of my apartment very fortunate. That’s where the bulk of the moment took place. Starting very late at night and going until very early in the morning, the walls of the 331 got to hear the most beautifully broken stories. Stories filled with heartache, joy, laughter (so much laughter), mistakes, forgiveness, questions, hope… And it was all in the name of Jesus Christ. The God of the universe. The Savior of humankind. HE DELIGHTED IN OUR 9 HOUR MOMENT! He looked down and said, “This is good.” He united 7 uniquely designed, quirky, different individuals under one roof and breathed an air of friendship on us and smiled. The Lord was smiling on us.

And for anyone that reads this that wasn’t apart of the moment, what I’ve written may sound disconnected or vague because the details of what happened weren’t relayed. But ya know, that’s okay. They don’t need to be.
Think back to your moments passed.
Wait for your moments to come. 
I wish I could better describe this, but my words won’t do it justice. I want to take in my sweet moment for all that it’s worth. I want to look back in my “Moment Catalogue” and say, “Yeah…that was a good one.”

C.S. Lewis hit the nail on the head. Friendship, deeper friendship, was born in those 9 hours and I could not be more thankful. 
My prayer is that moments like that come more often, even if they’re only for 9 seconds. My prayer is that everyone gets to experience moments like that. My prayer is that we don’t take moments like that for granted. My prayer is that in the midsts of our moments, no matter the shape, size, color, or length, we look to the cross.

How beautiful it is to know that we’re not alone.

[Beautiful Jesus, Thank You. Thank You…]
❤ Amen

Leave a Reply

