YOLO

Duck #17

So, I know I’m about a week late on this train, but better late than never…right?
When I originally had the idea to write a “New Year’s Blog Post” I was going to write one that was essentially anti new year’s resolutions.
I know, I know. Say what you will. Blah Blah. Feel better?

However, after much thought and several conversations later, I decided to make a list. I’ve never been a huge fan of these lists because I feel like so many of the lists center around the same thing:

  • Lose weight
  • Let go of the past
  • Try something new
  • Travel

And don’t get me wrong, ALL of things things are noble and beautiful and things that I want to do. However, these are things that can be done at any time. Why do you have to wait until the new year to do any of these things?

But I’m getting entirely off topic. This post was not meant to bash anyone’s new year’s resolutions. At all. Simply put, this post was meant to publish my own list.

So, here it is. For the first time in my life: I’ve made a New Year’s Resolution list & I really want to stick to it.
In no particular order, things I want to do in 2014…

1) Read 5 books. 
I thoroughly enjoy reading. I do. It takes me a while to find a book that completely captivates me and causes me to want to schedule my day around reading, but I really do enjoy it. It’s a great way to “escape” yet still enhance your mind. (PSA: not everything done to relax has to be mind numbing!) I recall starting and finishing 4 books in 2013 (for fun). If I can read 4 in a year, I can most certainly read 5. AND…3 of the 4 were some of the best I’ve ever read. If you’re a reader, I HIGHLY recommend:
Silver Linings Playbook, Mathew Quick
Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend, Matthew Dicks
The Fault In Our Stars, John Green

2) Memorize all of the US presidents
I am a US citizen. I love my country as much as a 21st century, millennial, young adult does (maybe a bit more/maybe a bit less). However, I could not tell you more than maybe 10 of our previous Commander-in-Chiefs. Personally, I think that’s sad. Especially since I’ve had to learn them more than once in grade school. No, I’m not a history major, but so what? Why would I NOT want to know things about my country?

3) Memorize the Constitution
I want to know my rights, and know them well. Simple as that.

4) Finish writing a story
Last year I wrote a Children’s book. It was the first of SEVERAL stories that I actually finished. This year, I want to do that again. Whether it just be a short story, or another small book. (PSA #2: I don’t think a “book” has to be published in order for it to officially possess the title of “book.” The goal IS to eventually publish my work, though.

5) Be bolder: in my faith and as a person
I am a Christian and I am not ashamed to say that; however, I don’t always act as thought I am unashamed. I don’t want to shove my beliefs at anyone I meet, nor do I want to act pretentiously. BUT I most certainly don’t want to compromise on things that I personally find uncompromisable. Additionally, I have been told that I am too much of an optimist, flaky with what I want to do, juvenile, a dreamer, unrealistic, etc. Some of the items in the aforementioned list are very true, but I don’t think that there’s anything wrong with that. I do know that my mind can be far too cinematic. and that I sometimes day dream. and I look at the bright side a lot. and I speak with hope. and I have what some may call a naive optimism…SO WHAT?! I’m not so unrealistic to think that “all my dreams can come true” and that life is like a fairytale. I am a realist, but I’m also optimistic. I understand the value of hard work, but I also enjoy effortless serendipity. I like the fact that I’m extremely right brained and enjoy dwelling in the realm of possibility and wishes and what ifs. 🙂

6) Stop saying “like” (this one’s gunna be hard)
Okay, if I’m using a simile, that’s different. I mean saying something like (this is an appropriate use of the word) this. “Yeah, like I have so much to do. I tried to tell that to my friend, but she was like, “I don’t get it. It’s the weekend.” It’s poor grammar. It’s unnecessary. Quite frankly, It’s unintelligent. The millennial generation doesn’t always say what they mean. We try. But we like, wanna make sure everyone’s cool, ya know?

7) Exercise to de-stress
I enjoy exercising. I like being healthy. I do want to lose some weight. BUT I don’t want to go crazy because I’m trying to get to some ultimate goal of what I want my body to look like. I’m not trying to be obsessive. However, exercising does often result in weightloss, so GREAT! BUT it can also help to maintain a desired weight. Additionally, as a college student I get stressed more than I should. Instead of complaining or even taking a nap…I want to try to exercise (if I can). It’s a head clearer, it’s an energy reviver, and it makes for a good night’s sleep. 

8) Expand my vocabulary
I’m an English major. But that means nothing. I know a lot more words than I realize, but I often don’t use them in every day conversation. I want to. I may have to stop and explain to someone what a particular words means, but that will help not only me, but the other person. There are so many WONDERFUL words in the English language. Why not use them?
*Today’s word of the day: coax. v.) to move to action in a gentle way, persuade (usually through flattery or manipulation)
“Jenna needed to be coaxed into jumping into the lake”

And that’s my list. Hopefully I stick to it. #YOLO 😛

[Lord, thank You for these ideas. May I stick to them. However, may I also be reminded that I am no lesser of a person if I do not accomplish them all, and I am no better of a person if I do. Let me know that in You I am complete and You are the One that defines me.]
❤ Amen

Leave a Reply

