“Everyone thinks you make mistakes when you’re young. But I don’t think we make any fewer when we’re grown up” -Jodi Picoult

 “Everyone thinks you make mistakes when you're young. But I don't think we make any fewer when we're grown up” -Jodi Picoult

Yesterday, a sweet friend of mine said:”Hi! You look beautiful. How’re you doing?….Stressed?” I smiled brightly and replied, “Helloo! Thank you! And yeah, a little. But who isn’t? I’m making it through.” My friend then said, “You should blog.”

So here I am. Duck #15. This one’s for you, friend, but also for me…

On my phone, I have a list of blog ideas that I want to writea bout. And one day, hopefully when I have slightly more free time, I can knock through that list. However, today I’m deviating from my plans and choosing to blog about a thought I’ve been carrying with me for the past week.

And the thought is this: I need to grow up.
No, I haven’t been acting in an extremely immature manner or carried habits of my childhood that are inappropriate for someone of my age. BUT I am getting older; and there are certain things that need to happen as one ages.
Exactly a week ago today, I said goodbye to my teenage years and hello to the roaring twenties 😉 No, I can’t purchase alcohol, nor can I rent a car, but I don’t think that either of those two moments in life define a person as an adult. Whether society wants to accept it, whether my friends want to accept it, whether my parents want to accept it, whether I want to accept it… I am an adult. I have not been an adult for long, but I am one and will only continue to be one. It’s weird, y’all. It’s so weird.

Every year, no matter how old you turn, the question, “So, do you feel any different?” is asked. Usually, the answer is a resounding and somewhat sarcastic, “No.” But this year, my answer has changed: “Yes, actually. I do feel a little different. I feel older.” I say again. It’s weird, y’all. It’s so weird.

For years upon years upon years young people have been saying “I can’t wait to grow up.” Well, millennial generation…we’re here! Now, what? We couldn’t wait and now our waiting is over, so what’re we gonna do about that?

Well…

Oh, you thought my next paragraph was going to provide an answer? I wish. But you see, I don’t have one. I don’t know what I’m going to do next. Do y’all?

Right now, I don’t think I have to know exactly what I’m going to do next. It’s so easy to make a list and try to stick to it, but because of the way the world works, the list usually doesn’t get accomplished exactly the way we want it to. Right?

So what are you staying, Jayna? Don’t make a list? We can’t just live life as wanderers…

Easy, friends! That’s not what I’m saying at all. Remember, I don’t have an answer? 😉
But if I’m thinking about this logically, as we get older we also get wiser. Because we’re wiser, we’re able to look at situations, problems, dreams…life through a lens that we couldn’t before. How I looked at life when I was five is different than how I looked at it when I was fifteen is different than how I will look at it when I’m thirty. So, with that being said…I don’t have to make a new list, change my old list, or create a list that doesn’t already exist. I can just live trusting that I am able to look at situations more clearly because I am older.
Granted, this wisdom doesn’t just magically come from a special elixir given to us by the Smart Fairy.

No.

This wisdom comes from:
trying
failing
making mistakes
succeeding
saying you’re sorry
loving
walking away
staying when it’s hard
saying no
staying up too late
waking up early
working hard
trying new things
and most importantly, asking our Heavenly Father for help.

To close with a few quotes that are extremely cheesy and cliche but still applicable…
“Life’s a climb, but the view’s great.” -Travis, Hannah Montana Movie
“We’re all in this together” -High School Musical
“Life is hard, but life is good.’ -The valedictorian of my high school graduating class.

I don’t know that adult life has in store for me, nor do I know what it has in store for you. But that’s a part of the adventure. So, enter this stage of life with boldness, confidence and the knowledge that The Creator of the universe has already laid out our walking path and is there to guide us when stress and confusion try to get us lost.

[Lord, thank You for the beauty of getting older. Thank you that your grace covers the moments where our mistakes cause us to fall short of what You want for us. Grant me wisdom as I embark on the journey of the rest of my life.]
❤ Amen

Leave a Reply

