Straight Snoozin’

A sleepy little Duck #13

Ever heard the phrase, “Time to get ready for bed?” I’m sure you have. As a matter of fact, I’d bet that you probably say it nearly every night. I’d also bet that you’ve never really stopped to think about the phrase. There’s never a need to think about it, you just do it (Nike!).

Maybe it’s because I’ve had so much going on, and I’m often so tired that I’ve been thinking a lot about this concept. Truthfully, I hate getting ready for bed. Indulge me for a bit, will ya? Let’s break this apart. “Get ready for bed.” What does that mean exactly?  Where did the phrase come from?

Why do we have to get ready for it?
Will our bed not accept us if we are unready?
By whose standard are we basing our “readiness” for bed?
Doesn’t getting ready require effort, when in fact, bed is a place where effort should cease?

Yes, these are actual thoughts that I actually thought. No, I’m not crazy. I’m quite serious. I hate getting ready for bed. I mean, am I alone in this? Like I said before, there is so much effort put into getting ready for bed. Typically, “getting ready for bed” causes for you to do the following:
1) Put on your pajamas (if you’re among those of us who find it strange to sleep naked).
2) Brush your teeth (if ya know…you want to remain a part of the “No Cavity Club” (Fun fact: I’ve been a life member :D)).
3) Wash your face (if you don’t want all the day’s sweat and oil to seep further into your pores).
4) Take out your contacts (if you’re one of those people that isn’t fancy enough to own the “overnight” contacts).
5) Any other bedtime rituals that must occur so that you’ll be properly prepared for your hot date with Dreamland.
After a long day, the last thing that I want to do is “get ready” for bed, all I want to do is GO TO bed. You see, this process is so tiresome…

But maybe that’s it? Maybe the process of getting ready for bed is supposed to make us more tired so that when we physically get into bed we clonk out.

Or…maybe I’m completely wrong. Who know’s?

I want to take a nap.

[Lord, Thank you for the beautiful gift of sleep.]
❤ Amen

Leave a Reply

