Lost in the Sound

Whaddup Duck #7?

What if life was like a musical? There’s two reactions to this question. 
1) That would be AWESOME! 

2) That would be the WORST.

Fair. To each his own.

When I first started writing this blog post, a few minutes ago at this point, I was definitely in group 1. I love musicals and always have. However, now that I think about it, I’m not sure if it would be all that awesome. Yes, there’s pros and cons to each side of the story, so let’s look at those shall we?

Pros of musicals:
The music
The drama
Being able to sing about your problems versus dealing with them
The ability that everyone has to sing
The fact that singing is more acceptable than talking
The usual happy ending
Singing in a room full of people, but them not being able to hear you…

I could go on, but I think this is enough for now.

Cons of musicals:
Too much music
Too much drama
The fact that people sing about their problems instead of dealing with them
The usual happy ending (falsified representation of reality)
The fact that singing is more acceptable than talking

Catching my drift?

It can go either way. What’s good about musicals can also be bad. 
So where’s all of this stemming from? Well, you know those moments in life where you’re going through something that takes time to solve. When patience/prayer is the best route to take in hopes of reaching the destination of resolution? Yeah, I’m having one of those moments. 

It’s confusing. It’s weird. I want it fixed, but I can’t do anything about it. Truthfully, I want to sing about it. If it were socially acceptable, I would monologue and then dramatically sing my feelings knowing that by the end of the perfomance whatever problem I had would be resolved. But life doesn’t work that way. 
I mean, think about it…how crazy would it be if the method to solving problems was to sing about it? That’s ridiculous! (Kinda cool, but still ridiculous) Now, don’t get me wrong, singing is great, I love it. Musicals are great, I love them. But me wishing my life was a musical so I could sing about my problems is…selfish, naive, foolish? I don’t really know. 

And even though I know that singing about my problems won’t solve anything, something about listening to music and letting the beautiful melody and vivid harmony drown out my thoughts, even for a few moments, is…nice. It doesn’t fix anything, but it helps, even for a short while. 

I’m sitting here in the library and my mind is running in at least 5 different directions as fast as possible. But what am I doing? Listening to music. Demi Lovato, to be exact. It’s not even that the songs I’m listening to even relate to my life at all, but something about her voice and the music, and not being able to hear anything else other than what’s coming out of my ear buds and the pitter patter of my fingers over the keyboard is calming. Music and singing has the effect of washing over people and making them feel a certain way, usually whatever emotion they want to feel (there’s a song for every emotion, I’m convinced).

The only problem with getting lost in in the music is that thinking about the issue that stressed you out in the first place gets left alone and avoided. Sometimes that’s exactly what needs to happen, but sometimes it’s the opposite.

But for now, I choose to sing along. And if that’s not what I need to do, then I’ll exit stage left and figure out what to do from there.

[Lord, help…] ❤ 

 

Leave a Reply

